For Crying Out Loud

Standard
For Crying Out Loud

Hello Everybody,

It has been forever since I posted!  I was thinking about that fact yesterday morning and this….poem…started pouring through my brain.  I actually had to stop making breakfast and grab my grocery list to scribble down the first two lines because they were so interesting….I HAD to know what came next.  Then splat! it all was there, fully formed, a message in a poem!  For those of you that do not live in the US, the phrase “for crying out loud” is used to convey exasperation.  So I love the double meaning going on with it!  The image that I chose for this post is a lovely little “weed” called Henbit.  It is a transmuter of chemicals and I see it all over at this time a year.  It loves to grow in Roundup sprayed fields or along sprayed fence lines, turning bare dirt into a carpet of purple!

Show me your huddled masses, that I may know you

Show me your tears, that I may read

Your heart’s desire–never forgotten

Now growing strong like a humble weed

Can you not see it, growing in cracks

Along edges of fields and railroad tracks

It is there for the humble

It is there for the proud

It is there for you all

For Crying Out Loud

Do not forget that what you have begun

Is now growing strong in the light of the sun

2 responses »

  1. What a beautiful poem Esther! and layered with meaning like all fine works of poetry. I miss seeing the spring chickory that grows along roadsides in Missouri…When it’s spring upcountry here, the “jacarandas” bloom:

    and in late spring along come the persimmons.  I’m attending a permaculture workshop this summer on the Hamakua coast!  So excited.  Happy planting–in all ways–to you! xoxo From: Redefining Meditation To: bek_evergreen@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, April 6, 2015 9:41 AM Subject: [New post] For Crying Out Loud #yiv4797799249 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv4797799249 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv4797799249 a.yiv4797799249primaryactionlink:link, #yiv4797799249 a.yiv4797799249primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv4797799249 a.yiv4797799249primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv4797799249 a.yiv4797799249primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv4797799249 WordPress.com | Esther posted: “Hello Everybody,It has been forever since I posted!  I was thinking about that fact yesterday morning and this….poem…started pouring through my brain.  I actually had to stop making breakfast and grab my grocery list to scribble down the first two” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

